On the Road Again – Colorado to Utah

No comments

I was lucky to join a 7-day geological field trip sometime ago which started at Colorado National Monument,  to the Arches National Park, Moab Fault, Jim Canyon.  It was around this time of the year, and we were warned that it could be quiet hot and that we should bring sunscreens, sunglasses etc. but that it could also be cold and we have to be prepared for that as well.  Which I did, but, it was just colder than I anticipated.  I was freezing most of the time.  At one point while we were on the road, there was even slush!  Aside from the unpredictable weather, we were also warned of the dangers of rattle snakes and black widows and tarantula inhabiting the area.  We saw a snake.  It wasn’t a rattlesnake but enough to scare me anyway.  The days were long and the climbs were grueling for me but the views were fantastic.  On the first day, we were grouped into 4-5 persons per car and each group handed a CD with a song selected by the organizers.  Hence the title of this post.  So by the end of the trip, whether or not we were into country music, we were singing along to this song…

On the road again (by Willie Nelson)
Just can’t wait to get on the road again
The life I love is making music with my friends

And I can’t wait to get on the road again

DSCF0921DSCF0930DSCF0936DSCF0939

On the road again

Goin’ places that I’ve never been
Seein’ things that I may never see again

And I can’t wait to get on the road again

DSCF0941

DSCF0943DSCF0944DSCF0947DSCF0948DSCF0950DSCF0955

On the road again
Like a band of gypsies we go down the highway
We’re the best of friends
Insisting that the world keep turning our way

And our way
Is on the road again

DSCF0962DSCF0966DSCF0967DSCF0980DSCF0981DSCF0982DSCF0983DSCF0988DSCF0994DSCF0996DSCF0997

Just can’t wait to get on the road again
The life I love is makin’ music with my friends

And I can’t wait to get on the road again
And I can’t wait to get on the road again

Leave a Reply

